Psalms 119:129-136                Pe (pay) 17th

“Your testimonies are wonderful; therefore my soul keeps them.  The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple. I open my mouth and pant, because I long for your commandments.  Turn to me and be gracious to me, as is your way with those who love your name. Keep steady my steps according to your promise, and let no iniquity get dominion over me.  Redeem me from man’s oppression, that I may keep your precepts.  Make your face shine upon your servant, and teach me your statutes.  My eyes shed streams of tears, because people do not keep your law.” ESV

  1. Why would we obey God’s Laws?
    1. Because they are wonderful
      1. Marvelous
      2. Miracle
  • Good for us
  1. Because they bring light into our lives
    1. Light – luminous
      1. Make us shine
    2. Light metaphorically
      1. Brighten us up on the inside
  • “Turn on or UP the light of understanding”
    1. Ever had a thought or figure something out and say “The light popped on?”
    2. God’s Word does that
  1. Brings wisdom and maturity to the simple
    1. The silly, The foolish
    2. The simple
  2. We need God and His Word to walk steadily in this world
    1. On the right path
    2. Not stumbling or falling
    3. Keep us from wandering into inequity
      1. Trouble, evil, mischief, sorrow, unrighteousness
    4. Righteous guide
  3. God turns His face towards us
    1. Blessing
    2. We sing “to seek Your face”
    3. Look upon me
    4. Acceptance, Approval, SMILE
    5. Numbers 6:22-26 “The LORD spoke to Moses, saying, “Speak to Aaron and his sons, saying, Thus you shall bless the people of Israel: you shall say to them, The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.”   ESV
  4. How long has it been since you…WE…shed a tear of the lost world?
    1. Violence, oppression
    2. Sin, self
    3. Arrogance
    4. LOST REALITY OF DEATH
    5. Lost World acting like a lost world
    6. Our family, friends, co-workers dying and heading directly into the cold grasp of hades.
    7. Do we EVEN CARE?
    8. Love and obedience means sharing the Gospel and caring about those around us.
      1. GO
