Luke 7:18 – 23     Persistence – Hang in there

I wish I was more like John the Baptist.

  • Radically devoted to his faith.
  • Knew Jesus from before he was born.
  • Served God faithfully, even in tough times
    • PLUS He wore Camel hair and a leather belt
  • He is well known and respected for his Faith and Works to this day

But, John was not perfect.  John sometimes wondered…..

  • John was wondering if Jesus was indeed who he thought He was
    • After John had baptized Jesus
    • After John saw the heavens opened and the Holy Spirit descend upon Jesus
    • After John had heard the Voice from heaven proclaim to Jesus “You are my beloved Son, with You I am well pleased”

Now John was wondering

  • Are you the REAL DEAL?
  • Did I make a mistake in telling others you were the One?
  • Should I be offended by You?
  • Did You claim to be someone You were not?

I think John had a picture in his mind of what Jesus would be doing and what Jesus was actually doing did not match his thoughts

  • Many of the Jews thought Jesus would become their earthly king right then and there
  • He was to deliver them from the Romans/Government
  • He was to reign and rule
    • Not preach
    • Certainly, Not be a poor carpenter
  • John was wavering in his faith
  • John was wondering if he had been wrong and he should change his focus and start looking for the “real deal”
  • We do the same thing today
    • We may have the same questions as John
    • We may wonder the same as John
      • God, why is this happening if You are here?
        • God, aren’t You supposed to be KING?
      • Why are these things happening to good people
        • Why are these things happening to me?
          • I work so hard for You
          • I sacrificed so much for you…
          • I waited so long for you…
        • God I asked you for this yesterday….
        • God I do not understand….
        • Is it You God? Is it really You?
      • Jesus was sending a bigger message to John
        • Hang in there, John
        • Yes John, I AM!  Here is the proof!
        • I am THE REAL DEAL
        • Psalm 46:8-11 “Come, behold the works of the Lord, how he has brought desolations on the earth. He makes wars cease to the end of the earth; he breaks the bow and shatters the spear; he burns the chariots with fire. “Be still, and know that I am God.  I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”  The Lord  of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. ESV
        • Persevere John! Keep doing the Work I gave you
        • I got this! Persevere in the faith
        • Hang in there! He Hung there for you!
      • John, God led Me to you
      • When you have times of WONDERING or WANDERING
        • Go back to God
          • You don’t have to be ashamed of your FAITH
          • Do not be offended – Keep preaching – Keep serving
        • You do not have to find someone else to ask for you
          • People will take advantage of your weakness for their gain
          • GO TO GOD!
        • ASK HIM! We wonder because we do not ask!
          • We don’t have because we do not seek Him and Ask Him
        • You do not have to be ashamed of Him
        • You certainly do not need to be OFFENDED by Him
          • Hang in there! God’s Got This!
