June 7, 2015 – Following God

 Isaiah 30:19 – 22 “…..And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left….. 

 Trouble will come

God knows and God hears

God is not missing from your life.  He has not abandoned you.

He is not hide from you.  You can find Him if you seek Him.  Your eyes will see Him.

Christ will guide you.  Will you follow Him.

As we travel life’s paths we often find ourselves off the pre-printed “Map” of our life.

  • The map your parents made for you.
  • The map your friends laid out for you.
  • The map your bosses prepared for you.
  • The map of your life that you laid out for you to follow through life.

Far too often these paths takes us on pathways that God did not laid out for your life.

  • Sometimes the storms of life push you off the right path.
  • Sometimes peer pressure pulls you onto paths you would not normally travel
  • Sometimes an addiction/hobby/desire changes your direction
  • Perhaps it is a relationship that is diverting your path

Sometimes we need to be very still and listen for Gods still, small voice saying “turn to the right” or “turn to the left” or simply “follow this path”

WE should follow God’s Calling for our life because:

  1. Jeremiah 29:11 – 14 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you.  You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.  I will be found by you, declares the LORD, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the LORD, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile.”  ESV
  2. Ephesians 2:10 “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”
  3. Proverbs 3:5 – 6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
    and do not lean on your own understanding.
    In all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make straight your paths.”

1 Kings 19:9 – 15 “There he came to a cave and lodged in it. And behold, the word of the LORD came to him, and he said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” He said, “I have been very jealous for the LORD, the God of hosts. For the people of Israel have forsaken your covenant, thrown down your altars, and killed your prophets with the sword, and I, even I only, am left, and they seek my life, to take it away.” And he said, “Go out and stand on the mount before the LORD.” And behold, the LORD passed by, and a great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake.  And after the earthquake a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper. And when Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his cloak and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave. And behold, there came a voice to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”  He said, “I have been very jealous for the LORD, the God of hosts. For the people of Israel have forsaken your covenant, thrown down your altars, and killed your prophets with the sword, and I, even I only, am left, and they seek my life, to take it away.  And the LORD said to him, “Go, return on your way to the wilderness of Damascus’

