Memorial Day             David and Goliath

This is Memorial Day Weekend

It is NOT BBQ weekend

It is not “Beginning of Summer” Weekend

It is not get drunk and watch a race Weekend

This is Memorial Day Weekend

Independence Day is the day we celebrate the birth of our Country and those Founding Fathers and Soldiers who gave everything for our Freedom.

Armed Forces Day honors those who are currently serving in our countries armed forces.

Veterans Day is a time to recognize those men and women who have served in our countries Armed Forces.

Memorial Day is a time set aside to remember those who gave their lives in service to their country. We reflect on their bravery and valor, give thanks for their lives and sacrifice and pray for their families.

This is Memorial Day.

It is reported that only 5% answer the call to serve in the U.S. Military.

Maybe not everyone is supposed to wear the uniform of their country, but I am glad I am one of the 5% who served.

Serving is never easy, even in peaceful times.

Serving is especially difficult in times of war and conflict.

I am very thankful for those men and women who have VOLUNTEERED to serve their country since 9/11/2001.

These brave patriots KNEW they were joining a MILITARY FORCE in a time of conflict.

They signed up anyway!  …Knowing there was an excellent chance they would be sent into the battle and offer up their very lives for US!

  • To the Military Member the Flag means something more than colored fabric.
  • To the Military Member the Pledge of Allegiance is more than just words.
  • To the Military Member their oath means they are willing to protect and defend the Constitution of the United States against ALL ENEMIES, both foreign and domestic.
  • To the Military Member this country is more than just dirt, water and political lines.

We love and serve our God and our country at all times, and our politicians sometimes.

While many stay back and spout slogans and spin their words, it is the Military Member who goes and does the HARD WORK of FREEDOM!

It is easy to congregate and spout hate, stomp on the flag in the name of free speech and cut military spending WHILE HIDING BEHIND the FREEDOM the Military Member is laying their lives on the line to protect.

We forget that God sent His people on many righteous and holy wars.  We forget that we must depend upon HIM for preparation and VICTORY in the Battle.

Psalm 144:1-2 “Blessed be the Lord , my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; he is my steadfast love and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and he in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.”    ESV

David was a Real Soldier for the Lord.

He was not afraid, even if the entire Army of Israel was cowering back, afraid to rise up and fight even ONE Philistine soldier.  They were men, so I bet they TALKED a good fight, but when the “Sandals Hit the Sand” they were running back to safety.

NOT DAVID!

God has prepared me for this!

God will fight this battle FOR and THROUGH me!

All I have to do is STEP UP in Faith and swing away!

What are you hiding from?  What is holding you back from being a GOOD SOLDIER for God?

