Saturday Night Pondering about Faith and Shooting

Competitive shooters spend a LOT of money on equipment, ammo, targets, range fees, repairs, modifications, eye and ear protection, entry fees and more with the plan of being prepared for an event that will probably never happen.

Competitive shooters spend a LOT of time practicing,loading, shooting and cleaning so we have the skills to defend ourselves in an event that will probably better happen.

This is why we call our events/group “practical shooting” and train with different scenarios and potential obstacles.

We do all of this gladly and (mostly) without complaint.  We are on range at 7 am on a Saturday and Sunday, pay our fees, learn and obey the rules and play by them.

We will gladly arrive even earlier to help set up the stages and don’t mind staying late to help with tear down.

We will spend hours training and hours competing,and be happy to finish in mid field.  We even accept those times we are DQ’d because we know we messed up.

What if we applied that to our faith life?

More often we complain when we are asked for money or the preacher talks about tithing.

We find it difficult to get to church by 11 am and are angry if the preacher keeps us a few minutes past 12.  OH, and did you hear that he wants us to come even earlier for Sunday School!?

As much time as shooters spend preparing for a big meet, how much time do we spend preparing for events that will actually occur?

Most agree that one day we will face God.  We know our time here is limited.  Most religions teach an after afterlife with God or separated from Him.

Are you ready for that scenario?

How willing are you to read God’s Guide Book?  Examine His rules to live by for your life?

How much of our time are we willing to invest in our eternity and the eternity of others?

How much of our funds are set aside for training and sharing the Gospel?  We throw a BUNCH of lead downrange; how about maybe buying a few Bibles and setting them off?

The same Lord who prepares your hands for battle has great plans for you.  There is a great battle being waged, but one not fought with guns but with Faith.

I believe in competitive shooting, training and preparation.  I think every man and women should be equipped and trained to defend their families, their communities and their lives.  Plus, it is a great sport!

I believe in the Word of God.  I believe in the Love God has for us and see how He desires a relationship that is real and powerful in our lives.

I believe that every man, woman and child should be trained and prepared in the way of Faith; ready for the coming day when we will stand before God.

I believe I will hear Him say, “Well Done, good and faithful servant.  Enter in.”   I think it would be great if He said “Great run!  Unload and show clear!”

Psalm 144:1 – 2 Blessed be the LORD, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; He is my steadfast love and my fortress,my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and he in whom I take refuge,who subdues peoples under me.”  ESV

John 3:16 – 17“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.”

