The other day I was picking up some pizza’s for a youth event our church was sponsoring and I saw something that really caught my eye and made me think:   a plate with a piece of pizza crust, a few crumbs and a wadded up napkin.

     I believe that many of you are thinking to yourself, “How weird!” and you are probably right.  Know that you are not the first to think I am a bit strange.

     God spoke to me very strongly about the meaning of this plate and debris; and the message He had for me to share with you from this simple everyday occurrence.

     The plate with crumbs, leftovers and a used paper towel gives us a picture of something that was once full of potential, hot and ready to go.  Then, someone came by and devoured most of it and left just what they did not want or think was valuable.  They took the best and left the garbage.

          This is a very powerful picture of the real life experience of many of us.  We feel like someone came by and used us, took the best we had to offer and then left us like so much trash on the roadside of life.

     I know this feeling very well from my work as a minister to our community and from my own personal and painful experiences.

     I have felt like I have been chewed up, spit out and somehow deemed as unworthy.  I understand what it is to be condemned without cause or simply be overlooked.  It hurts.

      I still do not completely understand how some people can be so cold hearted, self centered and disrespectful; but they are.

     Perhaps you can identify with this experience.  Know that you are not alone.  Know that there is hope.

    There is Someone who has already promised to never leave you.  He has made a guarantee that He will always be there for you and always love you.

     Romans 8:35-39 “Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or are hungry or cold or in danger or threatened with death…No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us. And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from his love. Death can’t, and life can’t. The angels can’t, and the demons can’t. Our fears for today, our worries about tomorrow, and even the powers of hell can’t keep God’s love away.  Whether we are high above the sky or in the deepest ocean, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  NLT

     Humans will let you down.  They will make mistakes, gossip, lie and seemingly try to destroy relationships.  God never will.

     Jesus very clearly told us this in John Chapter 10 Verse 10: “The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give life in all its fullness.”  NLT

     Jesus wants you to have the full vibrant life you are looking for!  Jesus will never discard you, condemn you or treat you like rubbish.  Jesus loves you!

     Are you looking for a relationship that will last forever?  One that will bring hope and meaning to your life?  Reach out to Jesus, He is reaching out to you.

     John 3:16-17 “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.  God did not send his Son into the world to condemn it, but to save it.”  

     Remember that God loves you…and so do I.

